top of page

How to Qualify for an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card

Before visiting a medical marijuana dispensary in Arkansas, you must fulfill the following qualifications:

  • Be 18 years of age or older

    • Patients under 18 years of age must have parental consent​

  • Have a current diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition (see below)​

  • Hold an official written certification from a physician

  • Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (Valid Arkansas driver's license or state ID card)

  • Arkansas law prevents members of the Arkansas National Guard and the United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card

If you need to renew your medical marijuana card, we're here to help!

What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Arkansas?

To receive a medical marijuana card in Arkansas, you have to be diagnosed by a licensed Arkansas physician with one of the qualifying medical conditions outlined in Arkansas's medical marijuana law.

The following is a list of the current qualifying conditions:


How Do I Get Approved for Medical Marijuana in Arkansas?

If you are currently living with one of the conditions listed above, you are eligible for treatment with medical marijuana in Arkansas. However, before you can walk into dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana, you will need an Arkansas marijuana card. The easiest way to renew your card is through our services here at Arkansas Marijuana Card.

Arkansas Marijuana Card is staffed with trained and knowledgeable staff, including compassionate doctors who are experts in therapeutic marijuana treatment. We make renewing your medical marijuana card simple and stress-free, while also providing educational materials so you can feel confident visiting your local dispensary.


  1. The first step in the process is to find a compassionate doctor to renew your medical marijuana recommendation. Here at Arkansas Marijuana Card, we offer telemedicine appointments that can be completed from the comfort of your own home.

  2. Next, schedule an appointment with an Arkansas Marijuana Card doctor. At the appointment, you and your medical marijuana doctor will discuss your condition(s) and symptom(s), in addition to your medical history. Please note, that it is always helpful for the doctor to have access to your previous medical records, if available. If you need assistance obtaining your medical records our team is available at (833) 781-6390.

  3. Once your Arkansas Marijuana Card renewal has been approved, you will receive a signed certification from the Arkansas marijuana doctor recommending medical marijuana and medical marijuana products as part of your treatment plan. This signed recommendation will be submitted to the Arkansas Department of Health along with a $50 registration fee.

  4. Once the state has processed both the recommendation and fee, your information will updated in the patient registry, and you will receive your Arkansas medical marijuana identification card. At Arkansas Marijuana Card, we are with you every step of the way. We will send certification after your appointment and help submit your application to the Arkansas Department of Health. 


If you need guidance on where to find a dispensary or have questions about Arkansas's medical marijuana program, we are here for you!

Arkansas Medical Marijuana

In 3 Easy Steps
Artboard 1.png

Schedule an appointment with one of our friendly marijuana doctors at any location throughout Arkansas to renew your card!

Artboard 2.png

Visit our office for your in-person evaluation or via telemedicine from home with a state-certified medical marijuana doctor.

Artboard 3.png

With the doctor's approval, you'll receive your renewal card from the Arkansas Department of Health. 

Marijuana in Arkansas

What Information and Forms Are Required When Applying for an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

The following is required when submitting your application:

• The application form

• The completed Physician Written Certification

• Photocopy of your Arkansas-issued driver's license or state ID - please be aware that your name and address on your application form must match what is listed on your Arkansas driver's license or ID

• The nonrefundable $50 application fee submitted to the State

Am I Guaranteed Approval for an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

We can’t guarantee approval for anyone, as the Arkansas marijuana physician is the only person that makes the determination whether or not a patient qualifies. To make it more likely that you receive approval from the doctor, we recommend that you bring as much information as possible to your appointment regarding your medical condition and past treatments.

​What Are the Benefits of Having an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?

The growing volume of medical cannabis research is continuously revealing further medical benefits than previously thought. The fact that Arkansas' Department of Health included such a variety of medical conditions bodes to the effectiveness of medical cannabis and the positive benefits that this treatment option can provide to qualifying patients.

Medical Marijuana Is an Effective Treatment ​

If you currently suffer from one or more of the qualifying conditions, we strongly suggest that you initiate your treatment regimen under the supervision of a physician who has the training, compassion, and belief in the medicinal qualities inherent in cannabis. At Arkansas Marijuana Card, all of our doctors are not only licensed under the state of Arkansas but also have taken additional continuing medical education cannabis courses to ensure that they have critical and comprehensive information related to the therapeutic benefits of medical marijuana.

Arkansas Dispensary Access

We also believe that any medical marijuana products should be purchased from an Arkansas licensed dispensary. The Arkansas Department of Health supports the use of medical marijuana (in its various forms) as low-risk and a promising method of treatment for any one or more of the qualifying conditions. With your Arkansas medical marijuana card in hand, you'll be able to access all Arkansas dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana. These state-licensed marijuana dispensaries will carry many forms of medical marijuana in varying strengths and potency. You will be able to buy products such as tinctures, oils, creams, dry flower, and plant material for vaporizers, as well as edibles. Check out our Arkansas dispensary pricing page for the best deals and prices at Arkansas medical marijuana dispensaries.

Is Medical Marijuana Safe?

Each licensed Arkansas dispensary will have a wide variety of marijuana flower (also known as ‘bud’) providing each patient with the opportunity to obtain the perfect match of THC and CBD strength, as well as various blends of cannabinoid and terpene combinations.


Every product sold to patients in Arkansas will be meticulously tested for microbiological contaminants, solvents, water activity, moisture content, cannabinoid concentrations (CBD and THC), and heavy metals to ensure that only the highest-quality cannabis products are available in licensed dispensaries.


As dispensaries continue to open, they will carry all types of medical marijuana products including edibles, oils, patches, and vapes. However, a patient is required to have an Arkansas medical marijuana card issued by the Arkansas Department of Health to gain access to any of Arkansas’s high-demand dispensaries.

Legal Protection With Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card  ​

Your Arkansas marijuana card makes it easy for you to demonstrate to law enforcement that you are registered with Arkansas's medical marijuana control, and thereby allowed to possess, transport, and consume medical marijuana products. Using medical cannabis is still prohibited on a school bus, on the grounds of any school, in any correctional facility, in a private residence that is used to provide licensed child care or other similar social service care, and in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others.


The Arkansas medical marijuana program allows qualified patients the ability to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary every 14 days. Home cultivation is not allowed in Arkansas' program at this time, and all medical cannabis must be purchased from a licensed dispensary and grown by a licensed cultivator. An Arkansas medical marijuana card will also not protect Arkansas National Guard or United States military members, as the program prohibits these individuals from obtaining a card.

Access to Other States ​

An Arkansas marijuana card gets you to access to all dispensaries located within the state. That's a given, but you might end up getting more value than you originally anticipated. Many states with medical marijuana laws already on the books offer reciprocity with their program. What this means is that your marijuana card from Arkansas will allow you to purchase marijuana in states that have similar requirements, although it is always suggested to check the other state laws concerning reciprocity.


Medical Marijuana Doctors in Arkansas

Give us a call at (844) 249-8714 if you have any questions or would like to schedule an appointment. We have medical marijuana clinics across Arkansas staffed with compassionate doctors who are here to help you every step of the way and we also offer easy telemedicine appointments.

Schedule an Evaluation Today!

bottom of page