top of page

How To Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas

Who Qualifies For Medical Marijuana in Arkansas?

In order to be considered for treatment with medical marijuana in Arkansas, you must first meet the following qualifications:

  • Be 18 years or older or be a minor patient with consent from a parent or guardian. ​The parent or legal guardian will give consent to:​​

    • Allow the patient to use medical marijuana​.

    • Assist the patient in the use of medical marijuana.

    • Control the purchase, dosage and frequency of medical marijuana for the qualifying patient.

  • Be diagnosed with one of the qualifying medical conditions. 

  • Obtain a written certification from a physician.

  • Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).

  • Arkansas state law prohibits members of the U.S. Military or the Arkansas National Guard from obtaining a medical marijuana card.

Medical Marijuana in Arkansas

What Conditions Qualify For Medical Marijuana Treatment in Arkansas?

Under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment, there are currently 18 conditions to be qualified for the use of medical marijuana. 

The current 18 conditions are as follows:

  • Cancer

  • Glaucoma

  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome

  • Hepatitis C

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Tourette’s syndrome

  • Crohn’s disease

  • Ulcerative colitis

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder

  • Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months

  • Fibromyalgia

  • Alzheimer’s disease

  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome

  • Peripheral neuropathy

  • Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy

  • Severe nausea

  • Severe arthritis

  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis

  • and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

Step 1

Determine if you have a qualifying condition.

Step 2

Schedule a medical marijuana evaluation.

Step 3

Submit your application.

Step 4

Receive your card and legally purchase medical marijuana.

How Do I Get A Recommendation From an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Doctor?

Once you have determined if you have a qualifying condition, you will need to visit a medical provider to obtain a recommendation. The physician must be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Arkansas, be in good standing to practice medicine in the state of Arkansas, have a controlled substances license with the DEA on file, and have a bona fide physician-patient relationship with the patient being treated. 

Medical records showing the diagnosis of your qualifying condition must be brought to your appointment. The physician will then provide a written certification which states the approval and confirmation of the qualifying condition. Approvals are not guaranteed for everyone, therefore it is recommended that you bring as much supporting information as possible.

How Will I Receive My Arkansas Marijuana Card?

After obtaining written certification from your doctor, you will need to complete an application form to the Arkansas Department of Health. This must be done within 30 days of receiving the certification or else it will no longer be valid. The following items are required when submitting the application:

  • Completed written certification from the physician

  • Arkansas State ID (Arkansas driver's license or Arkansas state ID)

  • Nonrefundable $50 application fee

If you are approved, you have the option to print your medical marijuana card. If you do not print your card, it will printed and mailed to you directly.

How Long Is My Arkansas Marijuana Card Valid For?

Your medical marijuana card will expire one year after the date of issuance unless your doctor states in the written certification that treatment with medical marijuana would benefit until a specified earlier date. 

Schedule A Medical Marijuana Renewal Evaluation With Arkansas Marijuana Card

Arkansas Marijuana Card understands that the medical marijuana laws in Arkansas can be confusing, so we take all of the guesswork out of it for our patients. Our friendly support staff will carefully walk you through the entire process, from helping you collect your medical records before your appointment, to submitting your recommendation to the State Board of Pharmacy after the appointment. Also, we have the most affordable pricing anywhere in the state of Arkansas!


Please give us a call at 1-866-457-5559 today if you have any questions, or would like to schedule an appointment.

Schedule a Medical Marijuana Evaluation Today!

bottom of page