How To Become An Arkansas Medical Marijuana Caregiver
What Is A Medical Marijuana Caregiver?
Arkansas state law and regulations allow medical marijuana patients to have a caregiver. A caregiver is authorized to visit licensed Arkansas dispensaries, purchase marijuana, and transfer it from the dispensary to the patient. There may also be cases in which the caregiver needs to assist the patient with product selection, administering medical marijuana, or product dosing. It is illegal for caregivers to consume any medical marijuana that has been purchased on behalf of their registered Arkansas medical marijuana patient.
Who Can Become an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Caregiver?
Caregivers are only allowed if a patient is physically disabled or a minor.
Caregivers can be a parent, guardian, sibling, spouse, nurse, or
any applicable significant other. If the patient is a minor under the
age of 18, a parent, guardian or individual having legal custody
of the patient must be the caregiver.
Additional qualifications to become a caregiver according to the Arkansas Department of Health are as follows:
Be 21 years of age or older or be a parent or a minor patient.
Have not been convicted of an excluded felony offense.
Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID).
State law prohibits members of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from becoming a caregiver.
How Do I Become A Caregiver For A Medical Marijuana Patient In Arkansas?
Those interested in becoming a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient must complete the caregiver application for their registry card through the Arkansas Department of Health. There is a $50 registry card application fee.
The state of Arkansas also requires all caregivers to undergo a Criminal History Check in order to be approved. There is a $37 fee for the background check. The completed Criminal History Check will need to then be attached to the application form.
Parents or legal guardians of a medical marijuana patient who is a minor are not required to complete a Criminal History Check. The parent or legal guardian will only register as a caregiver and pay the registry card application fee.
Can A Caregiver Serve More Than One Medical Marijuana Patient In Arkansas?
Yes. In Arkansas, there is no limit to the number of patients that a caregiver can serve. Caregivers must apply for a registry card and pay the $50 fee for each patient.
How Can I Get My Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card?
Arkansas Marijuana Card understands that the medical marijuana laws in Arkansas can be confusing, so we take all of the guesswork out of it for our patients. Our friendly support staff will carefully walk you through the entire process, from helping you collect your medical records before your appointment, to ensuring your application has been submitted properly to the State. Also, we have the most affordable pricing options anywhere in the state of Arkansas!
Please give us a call at (844-249-8714) today if you have any questions, or would like to schedule an appointment.